Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Mass Copy/rename
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Mass Copy/rename Post 88170 by lwilsonFG on Tuesday 1st of November 2005 05:01:06 PM
Old 11-01-2005
Bug You da man

ZazzyBob, that little script worked like a charm! Just gorgeous! Saved me beaucoup time!
Take the rest of the day off with my thanks!

LWilson Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Easy way to mass rename files?

Hi. What is the easiest way to rename a bunch of files? For example taking all files ending in ".php3" and rename them to end in ".php" I could write a script to do this, but there is probably an easier way... Thanks! (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: Thermopylae
17 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

copy and rename list of files

Hi all, I am a newbie in writng unix..I am using ksh shell..Does anyone know how to copy a list o files from directory A to directory B with differnt names? i.e in Dir A, I have RPT101.555.TXT RPT102.666.TXT and I want to copy those files to dir B with new naming convention.. in Dir B,... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: kinmak
7 Replies

3. AIX

VI questions : mass changes, mass delete and external insert

Is it possible in VI to do a global change but take the search patterns and the replacement patterns from an external file ? I have cases where I can have 100,200 or 300+ global changes to do. All the new records are inside a file and I must VI a work file to change all of them. Also, can... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Browser_ice
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash script to rename in mass

Basically, I have a huge amount of files (ripped audiobooks) that all have the same garbage in their filenames. I'm wondering how to go about writing a bash script to mass rename them. Example filenames as they stand now: The First CD - 1x01 - Title 1.mp3 The First CD - 1x02 - Title 2.mp3... (4 Replies)