Sponsored Content
Operating Systems BSD FreeBSD / KDE installation woes... Post 84620 by ForestryJim on Tuesday 27th of September 2005 03:22:41 PM
Old 09-27-2005
Solved

Turned out to be a hostname issue. Smilie Smilie

Edited /etc/hosts and added a "hostname=" line to rc.conf.

Nice. As you were...

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how do u remove a messed up freebsd boot installation?

i messed up while installing freebsd into a dual os wannabe system. Now, how do i del it( so i wouldn't get prompted to choose freebsd during boot?)so that i could try installing a different flavour of linux? cheers:eek: (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: coffeecoolers
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

FreeBSD 4.4 Uninstalling KDE or GNOME

Hey all :) I finally got around to installing FreeBSD 4.4, which considering it's my first attempt with *nix, didn't go too badly. I've managed to configure X and everything else, but I've got a bit of a problem, lol. I installed KDE and GNOME. I had a rough idea as to what they were, but I... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: hellz
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

snort installation on freebsd issues

i'm following the, "How to setup and secure Snort, MySQL and Acid on FreeBSD 4.6 Release" off of the snort.org website. in the documentation it says snort should be installed through the following: ----- make -DWITH_MYSQL -DWITH_FLEXRESP ; make install ----- later it says to do the... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: xyyz
13 Replies

4. Linux

freeBSD installation

why is my new freeBSD hanging at setting up hostname each time I plug in the network cable i use host name like X.ng I intend to configure it as a gateway (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: AkinOkin
2 Replies

5. BSD

FreeBSD Installation problems