Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: compress & cpio commands
Operating Systems SCO compress & cpio commands Post 82624 by tayyabq8 on Sunday 4th of September 2005 02:41:50 AM
Old 09-04-2005
Question compress & cpio commands

Our End of Day backup routine uses following script.

start End-of-day
compress $BASE TO /home/compdir
write /home/compdir to DATTAPE
end

where
$BASE=/home2/Rev83
DATATAPE=/dev/rmt/ctape1
write=cpio (not sure about parameters)

since I'm new to UNIX, i dont know how to restore data using cpio and i'm not sure about how compress works, Any one would plz. help me on these issues and also on how can i read data from the tape drive.?

Best Regards,
Tayyab

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cpio command with compress

Hi friends.. I want to be able to copy a file from one location to another (locally). The location the files are copied to should have compressed instances of the files they were copied from. copy from /home/user/test.file copy to /backup/user/test.file.Z I need to be able to do this... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sureshy
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

SSH Compress Commands

I am brand new to unix and am hoping someone can start me in the right direction. I hope I have the right forum but if not can a moderator move this thread to the right area. I am moving servers and need to back up a folder and its sub folders into a .tar.gz file then want to upload that file... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kushti
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to compress & delete files in ksh

Hi, I would like to know how to go about writing a script to compress & deleate old files from /var/mqm/log file system. I am a complete beginner and would love it if someone could actually give me the code for this. Thank you. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vkumar
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Find & If commands together