Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers sed command for using with back slashes Post 79109 by seaten on Monday 25th of July 2005 11:59:02 AM
Old 07-25-2005
sweet, worked good for me.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Back Command

I'm pretty new to UNIX and was wondering what is the Unix command for going back one directory? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jatic
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Back Referencing in SED

Hi, I have tried all examples of back referencing from the web but all in vain. It would be heavily helpful if someone explains me the use of back referencing and sub expression using an example of substitution. Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sinpeak
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed - how to remove trailing slashes

I know you can remove trialing slashes using: #echo "/tmp/one/two/three////" | sed "s,/$,," /tmp/one/two/three/// But I want to know how to make it remove all trialing flashes in the front, and in the start, so the end result is: tmp/one/two/three Anyone have any idea how to do this... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: EXT3FSCK
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem in Concatination of string in bash scripts containing back slashes.

My script is as follows: #!/bin/bash STR1="test" echo $STR1 STR2="/bldtmp/"$STR1 echo $STR2 STR3=$STR2'/tmp' echo $STR3 output i am geting ---------------- test /bldtmp/test /tmptmp/test but my need is: ------------------ test /bldtmp/test (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dchoudhury
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to use sed when a match has forward slashes

I'm trying to replace an alias with its match using sed but the match contains forward slashs so it causes the sed command to throw a garbled message.. cmd_list.txt sample AIX_myserver_1011_vintella.sudoers_cmndalias sample I'm trying to use the below but like I say it throws a... (5 Replies)