Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: ksh - strings
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting ksh - strings Post 75828 by RishiPahuja on Wednesday 22nd of June 2005 10:26:25 AM
Old 06-22-2005
MySQL

Try with egrep

Code:
egrep "$a" $filename

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

mailx: concatenating strings for message body (KSH)

Hi all, Think this is a pretty simple problem, but I've been thinking about it for a few days. Let's say that I'm going to have to output the contents of a file as the body of a mailx message. I'll probably do this: cat <filename> | mailx <extra commands> However, how do I go about doing... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rockysfr
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

ksh: Comparing strings that contain spaces and working with substrings

Forgive me. I am very new to kornshell scripts. The simplest things stop me dead in my tracks. Here are two such examples. I want to save the first 19 characters of the following string to a variable. "Operation Completed and blah blah blah" I know this works (from another thread): ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nancylt723
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

ksh :: want to cut the strings

I have contents like 423562143124/53125351276 sdgas/347236 sjhdk;ls'ald/y62783612763 I need a command that would make the string before / and after / as separate output as (A should contain 423562143124 )and B should contain 53125351276). I tried but in vain. Please help. (19 Replies)
Discussion started by: rollthecoin
19 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

ksh-script "arithmetic syntax error" comparing strings

Hi all, Iīve already searched the forum but canīt find what i am doing wrong. I am trying to compare two variables using ksh under red hat. The error I get is: -ksh: .: MDA=`md5sum /tmp/ftp_dir_after_transfer | cut -d' ' -f1 ` MDB=`md5sum /tmp/ftp_dir_before_transfer | cut -d' ' -f1 `... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: old_mike