Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Collecting data from TOP to a file Post 6489 by sssow on Wednesday 5th of September 2001 04:03:43 PM
Old 09-05-2001
Thank you for your response. But i think vmstat will give the info about virtual memory only and not on per process base. I need to gather the usage of physical Memory used by a particular process

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need Help: Collecting similar messages in a file

Hi All, Since i am very new to shell scripting, i need help from you guys. Suppose there is a file containing: Log message: Ashish "asasasa" asasa asasa asasas.info1 Log message: Kapil "asasasa" asasa asasa asasas..info1 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ashish.kapil
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help collecting addational data

I am attempting to gather data from 700 + routers. I have written a script that gets me about 70% of the information I need but I am in need of some assistance getting the remainder. I am fairly new to unix and I have not done programming since my 2nd year of high school in 1992. I have a list... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Garlandxj
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

no data redirected to a file with top and grep - why?

HI all, I want to capture cpu data in batch mode of "top" command and redirect to a file like this: top -b > cpu.dat it works! But I want to capture only Cpu lines, so i have: top -b | grep ^Cpu >cpu.dat Then I got an empty output file. Why? Could somebody explain and help me to make it... (15 Replies)
Discussion started by: fongthai
15 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Collecting specific portion from a file

I have a file which contains data like a b x col1:data1 formula:data3 this is for 2 a c col1:@bkw formula:dontad ad asd as per a \ i want the data from col1 and formula to keep the col1 data in left side of excel and col2 data in right side of it (1 Reply)