Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Splitting a single line into multiple lines Post 63138 by bhargav on Wednesday 23rd of February 2005 12:21:37 AM
Old 02-23-2005
Try the following ....

But the code is tested with 5 chars as criterion instead of 75.
Change as per your requirement.

Code:
awk '{
  if ( length($0) > 5 )
  {
      str=$0 ;
      i=0 ;
      while(length(str) > 5)
      {
        printf("%s\n",substr($0,i+1,5) );
        i+=5 ;
        str=substr($0,i,length($0) );
      }

if( length(str) > 1 )
        printf("%s\n", substr(str,2,length(str))) ;

}
  else
  {
      print $0
  }
}' file1

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Splitting the line in multiple lines

Hi Guys, I need a help. I am pretty new to the shell level programing. I was trying to split a long lines to a multiple lines with few conditions. I goggle for the code and found some snippets and tried to modified it but I got few strange problems too. I have to split the lines if line is ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dd_sh
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Multiple lines into a single line

Hi, I've some files with the following data and i need to convert the lines between the separator ---, into a single line. I've tried with the paste cmd but my main problem is that the number of lines between the separator is not fix, it can very between 1-4 lines. Input --- 2010-02-22... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: RickyC9999
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Combine multiple lines in single line

This is related to one of my previous post but now with a slight difference: I need the "Updated:" to be in one line as well as the "Information:" on one line as well. These are in multiple lines right now as seen below. These can have 2 or more lines that needs to be in one line. System name:... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: The One
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting