Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to create a dynamic list? Post 60245 by dangral on Thursday 13th of January 2005 11:07:15 AM
Old 01-13-2005
This isnt a homework question, right? I'll give you a simple psuedocode with no error-checking. Something like:

cd /
Ask for input (read command)
while reply not equal -1
do
tar reply
Ask for input(read command)
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing a list of dynamic names to a "PS" command in shell script?

Hi, I am new to shell script. This is my first post .I have written a small script which returns list of names starts with "ram" in /etc/passwd .Here is that:- #!/bin/ksh NAME_LIST="name_list.txt" cat /dev/null > $NAME_LIST evalcmd="cat /etc/passwd | grep "^ram?*" | cut -d: -f1" eval... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sachin.tendulka
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to create a list of entries without vi

Hi Is there a way to create a list of entries in a file without using vi to create this list ? I like to write a shell script that would create a list like this: apple : 2 orange : 4 pear : 3 Any tips/suggestions ? Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mpc8250
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to obtain list of object files in a shared (dynamic) library?

How can I simply obtain a list of the object files in a shared (dynamic) library. I am looking for the equivalent of "ar -t <lib>" for archived (static) libraries. Thanks in advance. :rolleyes: ---------- Post updated at 01:47 PM ---------- Previous update was at 12:16 PM ---------- The... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: chatieremerrill
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Sql dynamic table / dynamic inserts