Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers need help with some commands please Post 60178 by mujtba on Wednesday 12th of January 2005 10:17:46 AM
Old 01-12-2005
Data need help with some commands please

In my unix machine I have the following setup.

root 7 Dec 13 10:02 Beta10 -> current
root 7 Dec 13 10:05 Beta11 -> current
root 7 Dec 13 10:06 Beta12 -> current
root 7 Dec 13 10:06 Beta13 -> current
root 7 Dec 13 10:07 Beta14 -> current
root 7 Dec 13 10:08 Beta15 -> current
root 7 Dec 13 10:02 current -> pub/TRIAL16

I used the following commands to set this up:

ln -sf current Beta15
ln -sf pub/TRIAL16flashimage.tgz.rsa current

Here is my question. Instead of manually telling every PC that contains BetaXX to download the 'current' file, how can I write this and say if any PC is NOT equal to current, then download current, otherwise do nothing.

Im new at this, please help.. I don't know if unix commands have IF, ELSE and THEN statements...

thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

commands

hi, I'm completely new to FreeBds or unix in general, is there a really nice site to teach you the basic ommands to free BSD. I don't know what to do. =( (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Special K
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

commands

anyone know the command to display the ten most common words, together with their number of occurences, in the manual entry for the ls command. It would be much useful (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: master_6ez
1 Replies

3. Programming

code that reads commands from the standard i/p and executes the commands

Hello all, i've written a small piece of code that will read commands from standard input and executes the commands. Its working fine and is execting the commands well. Accepting arguments too. e.g #mkdir <name of the directory> The problem is that its not letting me change the directory i.e... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Phrozen Smoke