Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Encrypting password
Operating Systems AIX Encrypting password Post 58479 by Perderabo on Monday 22nd of November 2004 04:50:15 PM
Old 11-22-2004
Be running not as root or the user in question. Do not prompt for the password. Instead create a test filename that does not exist.
testfilename=/tmp/testfood$$

Now invoke su to create that file:

su $user -c "touch /tmp/testfood$$"

Now test to see if the file exists and is owned by $user.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

encrypting Unix flatfile

Hi, I am new to unix. I have a flat file that needs to be pgp encyrpted in ASCII format and ftped in Ascii format to remote location. Can any one tell me the steps involved in the pgp encryption of the unix file. I will really appreciate if any one can help me with the pgp encryption shell... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rkumar28
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Encrypting a password for shell script

All, I want to encrypt a database system administration password into a file or environment variable. Then, I want to decrypt the password from the file or environment variable so nobody sees the clear text password. For example, I have the database password of developement. I need to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bubba112557
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

encrypting files in ksh

I have an ascii file that I want to encrypt and save. I have seen this done before, but cannot remember how, nor can I find anything in any of my manuals or online help. Any ideas how to do this? Thanks, Henry (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: hwollman53
6 Replies

4. Solaris

Encrypting a script......

Hiiiiii..... every one..... I have written a script, and i want to make that script confidential.So that, only i can see that script. I am using " crypt " command in solaris 9, to encrypt that script.But when i am executing this... (6 Replies)