Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: sockets question
Top Forums Programming sockets question Post 57467 by jalburger on Thursday 28th of October 2004 04:33:38 PM
Old 10-28-2004
sockets question

I'm new to sockets programming and I have a few questions:

Is the a maximum limit that you can use for the send and receive buffers via a call to setsockopt()? Does it differ on different OSs? If it does, how do I find out the max limit?

What is the advantage to setting the buffers to be larger? Is there any disadvantages?

Thanks in advance!!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Sockets!?!?!?!?!?!

I am looking for a way to have a program listen on a port (example: 8000) for communication I will be sending via that port to it(Linux Kernel machine). Once it recieves an appropiate command I need it to run a .bat file in linux. I know what I need to do but I am running into a few problems:... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: bigB8210
8 Replies

2. Programming

sockets question again

I apologize if this seems like a repeat post, but I never got a clear answer (this isn't a criticism, it's possible I'm not being clear enough)....I'm attempting to enlarge the socket buffers for a udg socket, but it seems that no matter how large I attempt to set the buffer with setsockopt( ) ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jalburger
3 Replies

3. Programming

sockets

Hai, How cani declare socket and collect the data in a string varialbe. Since i am new to this i am asking this. Can we connect multiple port. Thank you. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: arunkumar_mca
6 Replies

4. Solaris

Sockets in use

Is there a way to see what sockets are in use? The developers here are getting some defunct processes and they would like to get a socket list. This is on a Solaris 8 machine. Thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kjbaumann
1 Replies

5. Programming

need help with sockets