Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: GREPing for Nulls
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers GREPing for Nulls Post 55729 by jim mcnamara on Friday 17th of September 2004 03:25:42 PM
Old 09-17-2004
Use od -

Code:
cat badfile | od -c

You can use
man od
to find other options.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Blanks vs: Nulls

I'm relatively new to Pro*C programming. In the following example: char name; EXEC SQL SELECT 'John Doe' INTO :name FROM DUAL; "John Doe" is in positions 0-7, blanks in 8-19, and a null in 20. I would really prefer the null to be in position 8 and I don't care what's after that. I wrote a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ebock
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replacing nulls using sed

Hi, I am trying to replace nulls with spaces in every record of a '|' delimited file. I used this command - cat input.dat | sed 's/||/| |/g' > output But if a space appears twice '| | |' , then only the first null is getting replaced with a space. The second one remains as a null. I... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: novice1324
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sort truncates line when they contain nulls

When I try to sort a file where some records contain nulls i.e. hex 00 the sort truncates the record when it reaches the null and writes message: "sort: warning: missing NEWLINE added at end of input file myfile" I'm assuming from this that the sort sees the null as a special character and... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ArthurWaik
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

include NULLs in line length check

Hello, I am checking the length of each line of a fixed length file and making sure all lines are 161 length. My problem is that some files contain null characters which gets stripped out of my echo. How do I have the NULLs included in my check? (and I cannot replace or sub the NULL values with... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: ironmix
10 Replies