Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: using floppy on Sun solaris
Special Forums Hardware Filesystems, Disks and Memory using floppy on Sun solaris Post 55523 by hmaiida on Tuesday 14th of September 2004 04:45:33 AM
Old 09-14-2004
using floppy on Sun solaris

hi everybody

i'm trying to write something on a floppy...please i'm a beginner..how can i manage this?

do i have to mount it first (how ?) and must i be root to such an operation?

thanks for help
hmaida

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Accessing floppy drive with solaris 8 Intel version

Ok heres the situation, I bought solaris 8 (intel version) for my home pc to practice with, I'm having problems accessing my floppy drive, I thought it would be in my dev or devices folder but its not there Please help, I'm very new to unix (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: eloquent99
2 Replies

2. Solaris

Sun Solaris Sun Java Desktop

Ok I a n00b, not gunna hide it so here goes - Sun Solaris, V.10 i386 - during the setup, I can choose a screen resolution that looks great with 65k colors and all. However, when all is said and done 4 disks and a reboot later, I get hanious 640x480 @ 256 only. If I choose the Sun Java Desktop... (20 Replies)
Discussion started by: Spooky
20 Replies

3. Solaris

Solaris 10 floppy drive problem

I have inserted a diskette but I don't see the files nor the floppy drive. These are the commands I ran. #volcheck -v #rmformat With rmformat, only the CD-ROM is listed. I don't see any floppy drive. How can I get my floppy drive to work?? I know it is connected b/c when I boot in XP, I... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: kungpow
0 Replies

4. Solaris

Solaris 8 Packages necessary for Floppy Access