Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting AWK print a character many times Post 52933 by dbrundrett on Wednesday 30th of June 2004 07:20:40 AM
Old 06-30-2004
Network AWK print a character many times

How can I print a '-' on the same line within awk, say 50 times, without actually typing '-' 50 times?

Cheers

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Counting the number of times a character appears

I am looking for a bash command that counts the number of times a character appears in a file. For example "I am a newbie, trying to learn shell script". Then the command counts the number of e and gives them as 4. Also I want one that counts the number of times a character in a string is replaced.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: #moveon
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace, insert n times a specific character

How can using Vim, replace one character with another repeating it 10 times? Ex.: Transforming this: 125A986 That: 125##########986 (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: IJNeves
12 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

read the text file and print the content character by character..

hello all i request you to give the solution for the following problem.. I want read the text file.and print the contents character by character..like if the text file contains google means..i want to print g go goo goog googl google like this Using unix Shell scripting... without using... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: samupnl
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do you print a single quote character in AWK

How do you print out a single quote character in AWK? Using the escape character does not seem to work. {printf "%1$s %2$s%3$s%2$s\n" , "INCLUDE", " \' ", "THIS" } does not work. Any suggestions? (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: cold_Que
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK Print Line If Specific Character Is Matched