Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Parsing a textfile, sorting and doing math fucntions. Post 50685 by rameshonline on Thursday 29th of April 2004 11:35:47 AM
Old 04-29-2004
I have a solution which is similar to what perdarabo posted.

sort -n file | awk '$1==prev {sum+=$2;} $1!=prev {if(NR!=1) print prev, sum;sum=$2; prev=$1;} END {print prev, sum}'

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

plugging out value from a textfile

Hi, need some help from all of you as i'm a beginner in shellscript. Currently i have a textfile(filename.txt) with the below content: TOTAL: 30 RECORDS: 300 anyone one know how do i plug out the value of 30 and put into a variable(var1) and 300 into another variable(var2)?I'm coding using... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: snowfrost
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding & Moving Oldest File by Parsing/Sorting Date Info in File Names

I'm trying to write a script that will look in an /exports folder for the oldest export file and move it to a /staging folder. "Oldest" in this case is actually determined by date information embedded in the file names themselves. Also, the script should only move a file from /exports to... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: nikosey
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parsing textfile problem with cut

Hi, I have a textfile with several lines like this: text num: USER text (num) num num I need all these stuff. Problem is, how to get these stuff after ":". USER is a username and all chars are possible, even whitespace. So I cant use cut. Any ideas? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mcW
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parsing of file for Report Generation (String parsing and splitting)