Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: opening a file
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers opening a file Post 49320 by hiei on Tuesday 30th of March 2004 05:52:55 PM
Old 03-30-2004
it still won't open it i changed it to a bunch of different names i tried

open -adg
open -a adg

(btw adg is the new name)

i don't understand, perhaps adg is a command to?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Making Changes without opening file

Hello, I'm new to scripting, I have a file test.dat. I want to make changes to it with out openning it. Example: test.dat has rows, and I want to change value "LA" to "TX" without opening it or without writing it to another file. Is it possible? Thanks (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: irehman
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to know whether that file has eol or noeol before opening that file in VI editor

Hi, I want to check whether file has EOL or NOEOL before opening this file in VI editor. My file is very big its in terms of 15-20 MB. I am using ksh for this. When we opened the file in vi editor, normally at last line we are able to see whether this is eol or noeol file. But i does want... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: HariRaju
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Opening a file from the terminal

Hi, this is such a simple question (I think), but I don't know the answer, obviously. If I'm using the terminal, and I'm remotely logged on to another computer, and I'm in my directory on that computer, what command would I use to...open a file? For example, a .exe file, or a .txt file...all I want... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Djaunl
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Deleting lines inside a file without opening the file