Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: beginning unix
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers beginning unix Post 47191 by henroid815 on Wednesday 4th of February 2004 01:46:29 PM
Old 02-04-2004
beginning unix

i am fairly new to unix, and i would want a very simple, small command-line operating system to learn as much as possible. are there any good ones? i have a fairly old laptop w/ about 700 MB, running windows 95. i would like to partition it, anyone know how to do that? any help is very much appreciated. thanks a lot.

henroid815

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Installation died on the beginning.

Hi, everyone. I tried to install red hat 8.0 on this computer ( CPU: Intel PIII 866, Memory 128 M, HD: 6.4G MATROX, Vedio card: RIVA TNT 16M), but the process always stuck. And the CD-ROM stopped and the light turned of, the HardDrive's light still on. I waited for almost one hour, but nothing... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: HOUSCOUS
5 Replies

2. IP Networking

Apache: In the beginning...

:D Hello Everyone, This is my first post on this forum, and I a already like it :-) As you can tell I am a complete newbie to Apache. My mission is to setup a web server on my Suse Linux 8.1 box, initially for test purposes, and then if my ISP provider permits, then to allow other poeple... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: bionicfysh
10 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

the very beginning

Actually, I had my first problem before even BEGINNING using my FreeBSD. The installation guide said I should run the rawrite tool and should do something like A> rawrite if i put the the file I want to image-copy and the rawrite.exe in the same directory somewhere. OK done that. Next it asks... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mudrack
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unix Script with line number at beginning of each line.