Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting to check redundant file names Post 47054 by maverick on Monday 2nd of February 2004 02:44:53 AM
Old 02-02-2004
Data to check redundant file names

hi
i have a very simple problem
iam moving files from download to archive folder
but before such a transfer want to make sure no two file of same
are present in my download directory
how to check for redundant file names
i thought of using WC but it counts inside the file (lines and characters)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Question is redundant but please advice

I am really really new to Unix. I'm lost with so many books around for different shell. I'm thinking of taking a course on Operating Systems but it contains a lot of Unix programming I think. For example, someone was talking about a "which" command. But I wasn't able to figure out what it does...... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: Legend986
10 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Recursively check the file/dir names

Hi, ' recgrep find . | xargs grep ' is used to scan the contents recursively. I have a different requirement. I need to scan just the names and check for a pattern and display with fullpath. Is that already available? Closest that I am trying is 'ls -R | grep pattern' Here I would get multiple... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: eagercyber
1 Replies

3. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

ZFS Raidz not redundant?

My ZFS on debian media server just died in a power outage, the zpool status shows this: NAME STATE READ WRITE CKSUM tank UNAVAIL 0 0 0 insufficient replicas raidz1 UNAVAIL 0 0 0 corrupted data sda ONLINE 0 0 0 sdb ONLINE 0 0 0 sdf ONLINE 0 0 0 sdh ONLINE 0 0 0 sdi ONLINE 0 0 0 sdk ONLINE 0... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mastersarg
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Searching for file names in a directory while ignoring certain file names