Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Removing lines in a text file. Post 43928 by Ygor on Tuesday 25th of November 2003 09:19:17 AM
Old 11-25-2003
Using awk to print lines where column 24 is not null...
Code:
awk -F, '$24' file1

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Removing the first and last lines in a file

Hi Gurus, I'm a little new to UNIX. How can I do remove the first and last line in a file? Say, supppose I have a file as below: Code: 1DMA 400002BARRIE 401002CALGARY/LETHBRI 402002CARLETON 500001PORTLAND-AUBRN 501001NEW YORK, NY 502001BINGHAMTON, NY ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: naveendronavall
2 Replies

2. Solaris

removing particular lines ending with a .cnt extension in a text file

I have a text file with rows of information (it is basically a ls command information(o/p from ls command)) I need to remove the lines ending with a .cnt extension and keep the lines ending with .zip extension, how to accomplish this. I also only need the date,size and name of the file from every... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ramky79
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

removing multiple lines of text in a file

Hi, I'm trying to remove multiple lines of text based off a series of different words and output it to a new file The document contains a ton of data but i want to delete any line that has the following mx1.rr.biz.com or ns2.ri.biz.com i tried using grep -v filename "mx1.rr.biz.com" >... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: spartan22
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Removing Lines From a File

Hi Does anybody know of a command that will enable me to remove all entries in a file that have the format (name & time) more testfile anthony 2003 anthonyr 2008 amorel 15:00 anthonyp 14:35 anthonyp 14:35 anthonyr 2008 ardean 13:28 arlene 2003 arlenem 08:15 arlenem 08:15... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jamba1
5 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers