Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: looking up hostname
Special Forums IP Networking looking up hostname Post 42390 by dangral on Tuesday 28th of October 2003 03:56:45 PM
Old 10-28-2003
I didnt know the domain name at the time, and there was no entry for the apropriate dns server.
I ended up calling someone and finding out the domain name.

I guess there still is some reason for having a telephone...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Hostname

Hello, I am installing redhat linux 6.2 on an intel based system. Whether i want to know any naming conventions should i follow. ie Any convention to follow to name a linux machine(To give hostname). Simillarly for domain name also. Please suggest in this regard (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bache_gowda
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris - unknown hostname - how can I change hostname?

Hello, I am new to Solaris. I am using stand alone Solaris 10.0 for test/study purpose and connecting to internet via an ADSL modem which has DHCP server. My Solaris is working on VMWare within winXP. My WinXP and Solaris connects to internet by the same ADSL modem via its DHCP at the same... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: XNOR
1 Replies

3. Red Hat

Change hostname

Hello, I would like to change the hostname on a Linux server (RHEL4). I try different methods in vain : - by using hostname command - by changing /etc/hosts and /etc/hostname But after restarting server, the old hostname re-appears... :confused: And the file ./proc/sys/kernel/hostname... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: madmat
3 Replies

4. Solaris

hostname on Solaris

Hi All, I am wondering how does the hostname command decides what is the actual hostname. Where does the command take the information from? (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: lmishkind
7 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

hostname cannot execute