Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Mac problem.
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Mac problem. Post 42272 by Karma on Saturday 25th of October 2003 11:27:44 AM
Old 10-25-2003
I don't think ifconfig saves modifications, so if he wants to keep his MAC at a certain value, he should include his
Quote:
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 hw ether 00:10:5c:ab:42:21
ifconfig eth0 up
in an rc script.

If he set the MAC addy back to 00:10:5c:ab:42:21 after rebooting, he should still be able to connect (actually, now that I think of it, the MAC address is broadcast at boot time, isn't it? it shouldn't really matter unless there's a strange setup... but I'm no networking expert) - perhaps there was a typo?

4 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Problem with curses library on Mac OS 10.2 darwin

Hello, I am trying to write a simple program with functions in the ncurses library, on a Mac running OSX 10.2.8, with the compiler and libraries that were included in the Dec 2002 Developer's tools release (the last one that runs on Jaguar, as far as I know). When I try to compile, I get... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: marks
2 Replies

2. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

unix executable file problem on MAC OSX ??? please help

I've got this problem. My computers and external hard drives are converting many of my files to a Unix Executable File which has a grey terminal looking icon. I don't understand what is causing this to happen. It is happening to a large number of my image file of different formats and also... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: chadb
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

problem with python on mac

Hi, I'm sure there's a very easy way to fix this but i'm a newbie so I'm posting this. The problem is that whenever I run python on the terminal I can no longer use the left and right arrows to move left or right, or the up/down arrows to call commands used before. Whenever I click an arrow I get... (0 Replies)