Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Limitation of DiskSpace Script Post 42050 by Optimus_P on Tuesday 21st of October 2003 02:26:32 PM
Old 10-21-2003
Re: Limitation of DiskSpace Script

Quote:
Originally posted by Dansen
Hi,

I'm a teacher in Germany and I want to set up a classroom with Linux 8.1 PCs. Every User should have a Max of 100 MB available space. Now I need a script which tells everyone how much diskspace is used in a certain subdirectory.

It should work like that: User enters a command like
diskusage -directory
and the command should list all directories as following:

diskusage -mail
2.3M /mail/spam
1.4M /mail/important
29.2M /mail/private

directories which's sizes exceed 1G should not be listed.

I experimented with "du" but couldn't get the right method. Maybe a combination of "find" and "du" is the right way but I don't get it for some reason.

THX in advance,

Dennis
do a search for my username. i posted a diskusage script a while back. you can modify it to suit your needs.

and comming from a teacher i personaly would expect more then just asking for an answer exspecially w/o showing any work.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Diskspace

Hi there, pls help me, i have a problem, how i can find out the disk amount of each harddisk per command (not the on label on the Harddisk) i need it on HP UX and Sun. can anybody helb me???? pls thanks Scotty (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: scotty
1 Replies

2. HP-UX

HP-UX 11i - File Size Limitation And Number Of Folders Limitation

Hi All, Can anyone please clarify me the following questions: 1. Is there any file size limitation in HP-UX 11i, that I can able to create upto certain size of file (say 2 GB) and not more then that???? 2. At max. how many files we can able to keep inside a folder???? 3. How many... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sundeep_mohanty
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

to compute diskspace