Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Cutting rows after a selected point Post 39921 by nhatch on Friday 5th of September 2003 05:40:16 AM
Old 09-05-2003
Cutting rows after a selected point

I have a log file from which I want to cut out the ten lines assoictiated to my search requirment (cust_ref #).

The cust_ref number will be on te first line and the update information will be on the following ten lines (which dosen't linking data to grep on).

Using a script I would like to search to the cust_ref and cut the 11 lines I need.

Columns, characters I can cut but don't know where to start on cutting whole lines!!!! Smilie

Any usefull tips?

Any Fanks,

Neil

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

flags to suppress column output, # of rows selected in db2 sql in UNIX

Hello, I am new to db2 SQL in unix so bear with me while I try to explain the situation. I have a text file that has the contents of the where condition that I am using for a db2 SQL in UNIX ksh. Here is the snippet. if ; then echo "Begin processing VALUEs" ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jerardfjay
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

return number of rows selected

Hi all, i am doing a perl script to read from a db. I am able to retrieve the rows, but i am unable to return the number of rows selected. i tried $selectedrows = $sth->numrows; i got the error msg: Can't locate object method "numrows" via package "DBI::st" i changed it to $selectedrows =... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: new2ss
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

print selected rows with awk

Hi everybody: Could anybody tell me how I can print from a file a selected rows with awk. In my case I only want print in another file all the rows from NR=8 to NR=2459 and the increment each 8 times. I tried to this: awk '{for (i=8; i=2459; i+=8); NR==i}' file1 > file2 But doesn't... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: tonet
6 Replies