Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: multiple file processing
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers multiple file processing Post 35729 by jagannatha on Wednesday 30th of April 2003 09:05:58 PM
Old 04-30-2003
multiple file processing

I need to process a directory which will have a different amount of files in it from time to time. This is an error directory, I need to process each file indvidually in to one log file, then display the file to the user. So I would like to display the file name as well in the log file.
example

------------------------------------------------------------------------
File XXXXXX located in XXXXXXXXX
file details, blah blah blah.

File XXXXXX located in XXXXXXXXX
file details, blah blah blah.

is this possible?

Thanks for all the help.

Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Processing Multiple Files

Hello Everyone, I am new to scripting and confused with how to do this efficiently. I am trying to use AWK to do this. I have a lot of files in a folder which has the data of my throughput measurements in two columns i.e. Serial # and Throughput. like this 177.994 847.9 178.996 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: hakim
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Multiple excel files processing on unix

Hi all, I am faced with a rather unusual problem regarding interaction between NT and UNIX. I am using an ETL (Extract-Transform-Load) tool on unix that has the capability to read .xls files. So, when I FTP an excel (.xls) file from a windows server to unix and attempt to read it with this... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ucode_2482
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Script Problem-Processing multiple scripts