Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Working out time differences
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Working out time differences Post 34858 by rik1551 on Tuesday 18th of March 2003 06:38:21 AM
Old 03-18-2003
Working out time differences

Hi everyone,

I need to be able to write into a ksh script, a function that can look at 2 24 hour time variables and work out the difference between them.

e.g

job1 runs at 21:00
job2 runs at 01:00

diff = 04:00 hours

I would also need negative numbers i.e where job1 runs after job2

can anybody help?

cheers

Rik

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Time change not working...

Hi, I am pretty new to the Solaris world. Just installed the version 8 and found that the time is off. I am in the Central time zone. In the beginning, the date and time was off by a day. After changing the /etc/default/init, there is no avail. The date is now correct but the time is still 5 hours... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: conflansun
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Working out end time from start + elapsed

Hi, I'm writing a script and have become stuck trying to define a variable (COMP) by adding an elapsed time (ELAPSE e.g 00:55) to a start time (START e.g 23:50). Can anybody give me a solution as to how I can get a completion time in hh:mm from the variables above? thanks Richard (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: rik1551
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Date/time differences

A thanks to all ahead of time. I've checked previous posts about this subject and can't find any that quite fit what I need. If I've missed the post could you point me there. When I do an ls -al I get the following output: -rw-r--r-- 1 staff staff 855 July 24 20:05 ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: gillr
4 Replies

4. Programming

C program in Unix / Linux - Time differences