Sponsored Content
Operating Systems HP-UX compiling linux driver to run on HPUX Post 31455 by LivinFree on Thursday 7th of November 2002 08:56:22 PM
Old 11-07-2002
Many C programs will compile just fine on HP-UX, but devices are very much different and rely on machine-specific code.

I tried very briefly and very fruitlessly a while back to use Linux device drivers to get some hardware running on HP-UX. Not to say it's not possible, but I would doubt it very very much - the kernel and the hardware are too different to simply port - it'd take a rewrite.

--------------
(Livin Free, please see my note at the end of the post below. Neo)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

modem driver for linux

how to get modem driver for linux on intel netvista a22p model?please help.Thanks.:( (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: xinubhaskar
2 Replies

2. Programming

Porting From Linux To Hpux

Gents, i'm a senior applications developer and need to port a Linux server application ( no additional / special libraries or unique header files ) to a HPUX enviroment. Any chance to compile it on the Linux using flags to create an HPUX binary with gcc? (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: anak0nda
8 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need Book for Linux Basics and Linux device driver.

hai friend, I am new to Linux, i need a book for Linux basic and Linux device driver .. plz send the book name and author(Easy to learn and mostly used by programmers) and also send the link if it is available in Net... Thank you. ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sundar.lsr
0 Replies

4. Programming

Compiling Objective-C 2.0 under Linux

Hello all, I am new to programming and currently I am taking a swing at Objective-C. I easily compile my programs on my Macintosh, and have compiled some Objective-C programs on my linux box. The problem I am having is when I try to use features demonstrated in the book Programming in... (4 Replies)