Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Platform decision
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Platform decision Post 31076 by Kelam_Magnus on Thursday 31st of October 2002 04:04:32 PM
Old 10-31-2002
Consider HPUX...

I am curious what you thought of HPUX. It is very comparible to SUN and has full range of support and wide variety of H/W for many size needs, from small shops to Fortune 500 enterprise systems.

I have been a DEC admin as well as my current job working with HPUX. I must say that I am very pleased with the reliability of the hardware. I sit near several SUN Admins that tell me they have had problems with hardware, but that could be anecdotal and limited to our shop.

If I had to pick one between SUN and IBM I would say IBM. Only based on reputation here at my work.

Smilie

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

decision, case, it then else?

I'm writing this script in Korn Shell, on AIX. The script will print a log file, and it needs to decide what region it's in before printing. ( the output of db2 "get instance" is either "The current database manager instance is: db2q" or "The current database manager instance is: db2u") ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: jpprial
6 Replies

2. News, Links, Events and Announcements

WIPO Official Decision

At Last Official Decision of UNIX.com Domain dispute by WIPO is available to review. http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/decisions/html/2002/d2002-0294.html (Status: unix.com > Complaint denied) (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: killerserv
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Numerical Decision

I'm tryning to do something like this, I have this file: spaces12tabgoodbye spaces3tabhello I want to copy to another file the lines that have the number above 10... I thought using sort -rn but I don't know how to discard the lines that have the number below 10. Any idea? Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: pmpx
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting