Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Search the symbol table of a child process Post 303034328 by alphakili on Tuesday 23rd of April 2019 11:01:02 AM
Old 04-23-2019
Search the symbol table of a child process

Hi,

I am a newbie in Linux land, and I have a question about programming parent/child process interaction:

How do I search the value of a symbol in the child process? Is it possible?

I am doing a fork() and execve() to spawn any child possible, and I need something on the parent side to give me the value of any given symbol in the child, ie. "main".

In AmigaOS (my home country) this is very simple. Maybe there is a reason for it not to be so simple in UNIX land?

Best /Alpha

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

no symbol table

Hi@all, I try to compile c code on hpux 11.11 pa-risc 2 with gcc (32bit). I compile with the option -g, so that I get the symbol table, but it is not available. Does someone knows something on this? thx (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dom_Cyrus
2 Replies

2. Programming

how to view symbol table in unix

hi , How to view the contents of a "c" program symbol table information in unix. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: saravanan_nitt
1 Replies

3. Linux

Reading ELF file Symbol table of C++ program

Folks, I have some program(Test.cpp) as follows, #include<iostream> class Abc { private: int _theVar; public : int printVar(); }; int Abc :: printVar() { _theVar=10; } main() { Abc _t; (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: vinod_chitrali
0 Replies

4. Programming

Reading ELF file Symbol table of C++ program

Folks, I have some program(Test.cpp) as follows, #include<iostream> class Abc { private: int _theVar; public : int printVar(); }; int Abc :: printVar() { _theVar=10; } main() { Abc _t; (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vinod_chitrali
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to make the parent process to wait for the child process