Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Expect script not passing password / commands ?? Post 303031709 by jacob600 on Monday 4th of March 2019 06:41:05 PM
Old 03-04-2019
Expect script not passing password / commands ??

Newbie here. My goal is to have the expect script log into the Ubuntu 18.04 server and run two commands (lsb_release -a and ip addr) and eventually pipe the output/results to a file. For now, I would be happy to get this one command or two to run successfully. How to fix this?

Code:
#!/usr/bin/expect 
set timeout 60 
spawn ssh admin@192.168.1.12
expect " admin@192.168.1.12's password: " 
send " admin\r" 
expect " admin@server1:~$ " 
send " \r" 
send " lsb_release -a "

Error: I get the password prompt but the script isn't passing the password (??)
Code:
admin@server1:~$ expect test.exp
spawn ssh admin@192.168.1.12
admin@192.168.1.12's password:

Normal response/output using "ssh -l" from the cli.
Code:
admin@server1:~$ ssh -l admin 192.168.1.12
admin@192.168.1.12's password:
Welcome to Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS (GNU/Linux 4.15.0-45-generic x86_64)

... misc output here

*** System restart required ***
Last login: Mon Mar  4 14:40:27 2019 from 192.168.1.10
admin@server1:~$

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Please use CODE tags for sample input, sample output, AND code segments.

Last edited by Don Cragun; 03-04-2019 at 09:07 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Password changing in a Script (shell and expect)

Hi, Does anybody know how to change the password on multiple servers with a script. I have 300 Sun boxes and the password expiry is set to 30 days. Im in a process to build a script using expect. Need a help from an expert who has already done it. Regards, Vinod (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: chellam
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Expect Script....encrypt password and use