Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Append header with awk
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Append header with awk Post 303017105 by RudiC on Wednesday 9th of May 2018 05:35:48 AM
Old 05-09-2018
Why not
Code:
awk 'NR == 1 {print "START OF LINE"} 1' file

?

EDIT: or
Code:
[ -s "$FILE" ] && { echo "START OF LINE"; cat "$FILE"; }

This User Gave Thanks to RudiC For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Append Header and Trailer

Hi everyone, I am new to Unix programming. My inquries is:- a) How to add a Header and Trailer in the set of data b) Include a number count of the data in the trailer The set of data only contained the information of 'Customer's Name' and 'Account Number'. I would like to add the Header... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: balzzz
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Append Spaces At end of each line Leaving Header and Footer

How to append constant No of spaces suppose 52 at end of each line in a file (xyz) excluding first and last line. Please Help me out for the same. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: deepam
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Append Header in CSV file

Hi, I create a csv file and the output looks like below Arun,E001 Sathish,E003 Now i need to include the below header and the output should like below Name,Number Arun,E001 Sathish,E003 Please guide me. Thanks (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sekar1
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Append Header from File 1 to File 2

Hi All, I am relatively new to scripting and am stuck on this problem, having tried many combinations of sed and awk. I am generating XML files ('File 2' - 20101214_1800_111_CODE.XML) which contain XML from line 1 starting with <REPORT> I need to insert a header for each file from a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ArtVandelay71
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

pull date from header and append to all records