Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Using awk add preffic to dynamic order Post 303014794 by ranjancom2000 on Wednesday 21st of March 2018 07:41:30 AM
Old 03-21-2018
Thanks it was working great

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Parsing XML dynamic data via awk?

I am trying to use a line of output in an XML file as input in another new XML file for processing purposes via a shell script. Since I am a newbie though, I'm not sure how to do this since the data is different everytime. I am using this technique with static data right now: echo -n "Running... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: corwin43
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Dynamic filename in awk

Hi The following code seems to work, but why am i getting an error message? cscyabl@comet:(develop)> awk 'BEGIN {FS="|"}{print $2 >> $1}' test.sum awk: A print or getline function must have a file name. The input line number is 8. The file is test.sum. The source line number is 1. ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Indalecio
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

dynamic match thru awk

hey , my i/p text looks like this, FILE_TYPE=01|FILE_DESC=Periodic|FILE_SCHDL_TYPE=Daily|FILE_SCHDL=|FILE_SCHDL_TIME=9:00am|RESULTS=B FILE_TYPE=02|FILE_DESC=NCTO|FILE_SCHDL_TYPE=Daily|FILE_SCHDL=|FILE_SCHDL_TIME=9:00am|RESULTS=M NOTE Look carefully for the position FILE_TYPE,FILE_DESC... (23 Replies)
Discussion started by: manas_ranjan
23 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Dynamic command line generation with awk

Hi, I'm not an expert in awk but i need a simple script to do this: I'd like to AutoCrop PDF files. I found 2 simple script that combined together could help me to automatize :) The first utiliti is "pdfinfo" that it gives the MediaBox and TrimBox values from the pdf. The pdfinfo output... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: gbagagli
8 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting