Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Information on heredoc
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Information on heredoc Post 303010800 by jim mcnamara on Sunday 7th of January 2018 01:23:02 PM
Old 01-07-2018
Shell Command Language
This indicates that it writes to stdin by default.
Nested here documents example:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
$cat <<eofa; cat <<eofb
$>>test1
$>>test2
test1 
test2

$<<eofa; cat <<eofb
$>>test1
$>>test2

test2

In the second block the first instance does not have stdin defined as an output device, and so nothing is there to output or process the data "test1".

I think Don Cragun probably knows more.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Information

I'm new to unix and wanted to know if there are UNIX tools/programs on the market that can be loaded onto my laptop or external hard drive that I can use to practice and test what I'm learning. :) (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Xman0ne
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

HEREDOC with fdisk

Hi folks What I'm trying is to build a partitioning script. I can pass a HEREDOC to fdisk just fine. Like this: fdisk /dev/sda << EOF p q EOF but I don't know how to put that HEREDOC into a varible to pass it to fdisk. This is what I have tried so far (no luck) #!/bin/bash ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: latenite
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem in SFTP using heredoc

Hi, I'm having heredoc to get files from ftp server. #!/bin/bash /export/opt/SCssh/3.7.1_C0/bin/sftp csi@192.168.1.100 <<GET_FILES lcd /WEBSERVER_LINK/data_logs/ ls -l pub/csidata/GeneralAppFields_8_1_Feed.out pub/csidata/CtcCatalog_7_3_3_Feed.out get... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: bheeshmaraja
13 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

heredoc error check