Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Big difference between UNIX systems? Which one as OSX replacement for a developer? Post 303010628 by JacobPhelps on Thursday 4th of January 2018 09:28:21 AM
Old 01-04-2018
DragonFly BSD and Solaris have incremental backup functionality included.

development is not a topic anymore because it seems that there are problems getting all popular web browsers running on linux/bsd.

I will stay with OSX as private system.
But I would like to do something like Linux/ From Scratch or Arc BSD to have a Unix-y system which I know and control up to 100%.

What can you recommend for this?

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Mac OSX vs. UNIX

To anyone that has the answer: What does UNIX have that Mac OSX doesn't. I am a programmer, and I am wondering if I could just get Mac OSX for my programming needs instead of UNIX. But my major question is what does UNIX have that Mac OSX doesn't. Thank you if you have the answer, and are willing... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: REM
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

launching OSX apps in UNIX

How do you launch an OSX app in UNIX? -Mad (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: madknowledge
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX mode in Mac OSX - problems

I am a Macintosh using OS 10.2 which has Unix underpinnings. When entering console mode (the root system where unix takes over) I get the following message - bootstrap_look_up () failed (ipc/send) invalid destination port I always used to get a localhost# prompt (and then can use unix... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ngilman
1 Replies

4. OS X (Apple)

OSX/Unix problem