Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Can I combine below mentioned grep commands using OR (when searching strings having spaces) Post 302988424 by RavinderSingh13 on Monday 26th of December 2016 08:29:48 AM
Old 12-26-2016
Hello Tanu,

Could you please try to use grep's -E option by joining both searches with | only and let me know how it goes then.

Thanks,
R. Singh

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

combine two vg spaces

Hello, I'm a newbie on this AIX/Unix. I'm trying to combine the space of /testing1/ to /testing2/, so that /testing2/ may have more space. How do I accomplish this? I guess I have to unmount /testing1/ from /apple26lv first... but after that I'm not sure how this can be accomplished? ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cchiang12
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Combine Two Commands Output

How i can combine output of two commands in one file.......i tried this but it is not working although each command is working good seperately..... head -1 filename | tail -1 filename i think there is problem with command concatenator? (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: 33junaid
16 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Combine commands

Hi, i tried to combine grep with find and it didnt work grep 'find dirname filename" i also would like that the file will be sorted in the way. thanks a lot. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Spoiler
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Combine two lists From Multiple Grep commands.

I'm working with a file with an xml structure. I'd like to parse it down to just the bits i want. Here is and example of the file <message id="96352877" method="status"> <date rfc="Sat, 12 Mar 2011 16:13:15 -0600" unix="1299967995" /> <services> <service id="facebook"... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Erulisseuiin
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can I combine these two commands into one?