Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need to cut a specific pattern from a line Post 302976979 by RudiC on Sunday 10th of July 2016 04:40:42 AM
Old 07-10-2016
Not too clear what you really want. Based on what I infer, try
Code:
awk -F, '/false/ && match ($0, /http:\/\/[^\/]*\/[^\/]*/) {print $3, substr ($0, RSTART, RLENGTH)}' file3
something_error http://xxx:000/abcd

Last edited by RudiC; 07-10-2016 at 06:11 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

merge columns into one line after a specific pattern

Hi all, im a linux newbie, plz help! I have a file - box -------- Fox-2 -------- UF29 zip42 -------- zf-CW SNF2_N Heli_Z -------- Fox -------- Kel_1 box (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sam_2921
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

To cut a specific line

Hi, I need to remove a specific line from a file.. For eg: From the html codings, I need to find the word "iframe frameborder" and cut it . I tried with find . -type f -exec grep -H 'iframe frameborder' {} \; > <filename> From the output of this result, I need to remove the "iframe... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: gsiva
14 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to cut first line only from a text near a specific column without cutting a word

First I have to say thank you to this community and this forum. You helped me very much builing several useful scripts. Now, I can't get a solution the following problem, I'm stuck somehow. Maybe someone has an idea. In short, I dump a site via lynx and pipe the output in a file. I need to... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: lowmaster
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to cut specific line and one line under?