Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers How to loop command over folders in a directory? Post 302974467 by azurite on Tuesday 31st of May 2016 01:25:46 AM
Old 05-31-2016
How to loop command over folders in a directory?

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to scripting so please bear with me. I will try to explain as best as I can but if there's anything that is not clear, please let me know.

I have a directory (see below) with numerous folders and within each of those folders are various files. I would like to run a script that will go into each folder and then select the specified files and then repeat this process for all the folders that are in a given directory. Here is an example of how the path is set up:

The folders contain multiple files with various extensions. I would like the script to go into random#1 folder, look for the specified files, execute the command, and then move onto random#2 folder and do the same.

Inside each folder are the following files:

I have the following script that only works on one specific type of file inside each folder but I need to write a new one that works on specified files (above) located inside each folder in the directory.

How can I make it so that I can replace the above to make a list of all the folders and then run a script that goes inside each folder and looks for the specified files?

Basically, I need the script to go into the directory, into the subdirectory, into the folders, and look for specified files in those folders. And repeat for every folder there is.

I have exhausted all options of self-teaching/experimenting to figure this out on my own and therefore, I'm hoping I can find some solution here.

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by azurite; 06-15-2016 at 12:46 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to loop around folders