Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Want to automate some DNS checks Post 302972889 by joeyg on Wednesday 11th of May 2016 11:04:23 AM
Old 05-11-2016
Probably next steps would be to experiment with what is returned from the dig commands.

For instance, save the return message to a variable.
Then, see if it contains or does not contain an important message.
Finally, based on the "if" statement you just did, you could display either
OK -- full return message here
*ERROR* - unknown ___ -- full return message here

Experiment a little with this.
I know when I was a Sys Admin (long ago), I had many scripts that would run and alert me when an error. In my case, the script would email me when something was wrong.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Solaris DNS Client For Microsoft DNS Server

hey guys, how to add soalris box as a microsoft DNS Client ? and how to register in the microsoft DNS ?? i managed to query from the DNS server after adding /etc/resolve.conf and editing /etc/nsswitch.conf but i need to register the soalris server (dns Client) into Microsoft DNS automatically.... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mduweik
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

health checks

Hello Anyone please help me with a health check script on HP-UX. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mahlathini
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Doing Checks on a file

I have a process that I am trying to provide a solution for and have hit a brick wall and would like some pointers in the right direction. Basically on a daily basis a report is automatically generated in a CSV format (FIRST.CSV) which includes codes and amounts in the following format: ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: SAMZ
6 Replies

4. AIX

Pre-checks

AIX Guys!!! What pre-checks would you do on a 5.3 server before TL/SP/APAR installation? Bala (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: balaji_prk
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users