Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Combine two Fields if there's a comma between Post 302969097 by RudiC on Friday 18th of March 2016 04:02:47 AM
Old 03-18-2016
Actually, I can't see the problem here. ".csv" implies (but doesn't insist) fields to be separated by commas (or semicolons). Spreadsheet programs would show three fields (by default) with your above data. But - when reading (any) text file, you usually can select the field separator; setting it to | will yield exactly what you seem to be after: Supplies Station, Inc. and KARISSA APPAREL, INC. - 112012 in fields 2 and 3, resp.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Combine fields and eliminate white space

Good Morning, Newbie here. Could someone help with shell scripting that will enable me to combine 2 fields into one eliminating the white space. The fields are fixed but the data of course varies. For example: First Name: "George " 20 positions" Last Name: "Washington " 30 positions" I need... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ski
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sort the fields in a comma delimited file

Hi, I have a comma delimited file. I want to sort the fields alphabetically and again store them in a comma delimited file. For example, My file looks like this. abc,aaa,xyz,xxx,def pqr,ggg,eee,iii,qqq zyx,lmo,pqr,abc,fff and I want my output to look like this, all fields sorted... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: swethapatil
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Trimming fields for comma or pipe seperated file

I have file like this FileA: abc , "helloworld" , america def,asia, japan ghi, africa, ipl Output Needed: abc,"helloworld",america def,asia,japan ghi,africa,ipl I would like to implement using awk. I want to trim each field for its leading and trailing spaces. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: pinnacle
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to combine fields from different files