Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Need help in script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need help in script Post 302960149 by yarraguntla on Wednesday 11th of November 2015 11:04:43 AM
Old 11-11-2015
Need help in script

Hi all,

I am a newbie to Unix and i have requirement to add a prefix as column number to the header row columns. ( Add [Column#] to Column).The file is a pipe delimited.
Input
Code:
Student_Id|Student_Name|Student_Address

Output should be

Code:
01_Student_Id|02_Student_Name|03_Student_Address

There can be multiple files and each file can have different number of columns. Example file 1 can have 2 columns, file 2 can have 5 columns etc, but all the files are delimeted by |.

Could someone please help me in writing a script which works for all the file.

Note: requirement is just to add prefix for column names ( header row)

Thanks in advance

Last edited by vgersh99; 11-11-2015 at 12:13 PM.. Reason: code tags, please!

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

create a shell script that calls another script and and an awk script

Hi guys I have a shell script that executes sql statemets and sends the output to a file.the script takes in parameters executes sql and sends the result to an output file. #!/bin/sh echo " $2 $3 $4 $5 $6 $7 isql -w400 -U$2 -S$5 -P$3 << xxx use $4 go print"**Changes to the table... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: magikminox
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script will keep checking running status of another script and also restart called script at night

I am using blow script :-- #!/bin/bash FIND=$(ps -elf | grep "snmp_trap.sh" | grep -v grep) #check snmp_trap.sh is running or not if then # echo "process found" exit 0; else echo "process not found" exec /home/Ketan_r /snmp_trap.sh 2>&1 & disown -h ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ketanraut
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers