Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat Core Dump of a process in Red Hat Linux 5.9 Post 302951236 by Anjan Ganguly on Tuesday 4th of August 2015 07:54:46 AM
Old 08-04-2015
RedHat Core Dump of a process in Red Hat Linux 5.9

Hello All,

I am new joiner of this forum.I am new to Linux shell scripting.
At present I have identified 1 application which stalls very frequently (PID is say xyz) and I am not having much information in its application log to identify the root cause of stalling. I need to take the core dump in order to analyze it further.
I think I require some shell script in order to achieve the same.Preferably I want to do it through GCORE utility of GDB.

Can any one help me out in this regard?
I am using Red Hat Enterprise Linux server release 5.9
Kernel version is 2.6.18

Regards

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Red Hat Linux 6.0

Ok here is my problem i do not know the command to load a driver for my network card in Ted hat linux 6.0 could sombody give me a hand. and if there is anyone that has a list of commands for red hat that would be great also (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bbutler3295
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to force core dump of a process

We have an application that terminates with segmentation violation errors in the logs. No source code is available since this is a third party software that is way past its maintenance life cycle. Under these circumstances is there a way to force a core dump of the process for further analysis?? ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Un1xNewb1e
3 Replies

3. Linux

crash dump server for red hat ent 4

Is it true that you can't have the crash dump server/client on the same server? I know I've installed Nagios open source before, I though it's only for that kind of thing. I never though that Red hat ent 4 would be like client/server on the crash dump. if someone is having problem with high... (0 Replies)