Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Useradd script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Useradd script Post 302949204 by tshepang on Wednesday 8th of July 2015 05:46:16 AM
Old 07-08-2015
Useradd script

Trying to create a bash script that will read the /etc/passwd file for existing UID's before adding a new user and also does an incremental by allocating the next available UID.And also add the user to the correct group.Please help I am a newbie in scripting.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

useradd script

I have a txt file with many users and I need to add them and create random passwords. Does any one have a script in pearl possible? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: macdonto
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

useradd -c in a script????

Here's my box info: ROOT@fcivra: uname -a SunOS fcivra 5.6 Generic_105181-26 sun4m sparc SUNW,SPARCstation-5 I am creating a script called adduser, that will incorporate the useradd command. Here is what it looks like: #!/bin/sh echo "Enter the person's VZID (lower case): \c" read VZID... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cdunavent
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

useradd

Gurus, I need to add a user to all the machines. I need a script to do this. I did one but it does not allow me to su to root within a ssh session i open. It exists saying su: Sorry. Please let me know how i can do it. I do not have the freedom of using sudo either. Regards (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: earlysame55
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

useradd?

Hi Experts, when using useradd command, what are the necessary options/arguments to be included? Please advice. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: etcpasswd
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with useradd script