Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Basic awk...newbie quetion
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Basic awk...newbie quetion Post 302948564 by Quijotes on Tuesday 30th of June 2015 12:55:27 PM
Old 06-30-2015
You can do it with just replacing the 4th column

awk '{print $1,$2,$3,"1"}' input.txt > output.txt

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk newbie

I would like to parse a file and use each record to create a unique file where the name of the file created is taken from the 3rd field. Example: here are 3 records. 000007 0110 07-0001583 20060802132213 20060801112601 000007 0110 07-0001584 ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: zoo591
4 Replies

2. Programming

Basic questions on writing a Unix Service (newbie help!)

Hi there. I've got 12 years experience writing C++ on Windows, and 3 years C# on Windows. Now my boss wants me to write a C++ app to run on Unix as a multithreaded 'service' (i.e. a program that runs with no user intervention). Some quick questions for The Experts: * Whats the best C++... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rutland Gizz
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help with AWK (newbie)

Hello all I have a file with below data, I need to add a third column as XXXX if the first coloumn (H180620081) last number is "1" and YYYY if the first coloumn last number is "2" Can it be done with AWK, I would appreciate if anyone could help me ou with this. H180620081 31310 ... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: udaybo
11 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk basic issue

Hi all, I have an awk basic question. file.text Our Location: Our home has light yellow siding, and is a duplex on Main Street, across from the High School, and across the lane from the Health Center If I run: cat file.txt | awk '{print $2}' | grep... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: research3
7 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers