Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Delete Files from a date
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Delete Files from a date Post 302945818 by dbajtr on Wednesday 3rd of June 2015 10:53:09 AM
Old 06-03-2015
Delete Files from a date

I'm quite new to Unix but I want to delete some old backup files stored in a directory.

the backups are stored on a network storage device located at /mnt/terastation12/backup. I want to delete everything upto one month ago. would the following command in Unix Sun do that?

Code:
find /mnt/terastation12/backup -mtime +31 -exec rm {} \;

Cheers

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment code tags please

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to delete files by date

My apache logs are saved in the following format (using rotatelogs): Oct 8 01:59 access_log.1002412800 Oct 9 01:55 access_log.1002499200 Oct 10 01:58 access_log.1002585600 Oct 11 01:56 access_log.1002672000 Oct 12 01:59 access_log.1002758400 I would like to run a cronjob once a week to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jamesbond
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Delete files by date

Hi, Can anyone help me delete old files in a directory? Let's say, I want to delete all files which are 365 days old. Thank you. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: risk_sly
2 Replies

3. Solaris

Delete files according to date

Hi All, I am wondering whether is there a way to remove files according to date. For example, I have 500 files between Jan - April, and I want to remove files created only on March. Is there any way to do this? Thanks in advanced. rgds, Ronny (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ronny_nch
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete files by date