Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Syncing Multiple Music Collections, Can rsync help? Post 302944270 by gandolf989 on Monday 18th of May 2015 10:12:04 AM
Old 05-18-2015
I don't think that you want rsync. If you want to rip CD's again you can look at using a script called adbcde with lame.

https://www.google.com/webhp?sourcei...0adbcde%20lame

There are also utilities that will help you to edit the meta data. Doing those two things you should help you to get the various mp3's that you have under control. If you have the same album stored multiple times with different metadata, then rsync is not going to combine the various versions, but fixing the metadata should help you to find duplicates.

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

use rsync to update my music server from my windows notebook

Hello all, I am fairly new to unix/linux. I am using Ubuntu 10.10 as a server. I use a laptop that is Windows based (windows 7 ultimate) and I store my music library on that machine. I was hoping to use rsync to make sure any changes that happen to my music on my computer will be... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: marcozd
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

rsync - transactional sync with multiple nodes

Hi Everyone, We have a requirement to sync files with multiple nodes. We need to run the rsync sequentially on each node, if one of the node fails we need to recover the files to previous state in all nodes. I know that we have backup option in rsync which takes the backup of files before... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: MVEERA
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

rsync not syncing a file