Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to bring together two inputs in case? Post 302942099 by PrincMehi on Friday 24th of April 2015 08:05:09 AM
Old 04-24-2015
How to bring together two inputs in case?

Hi guys,

im newbie, im trying something, but cannot figure out how to bring together case with 2 inputs.
Something like "enter your name" and "enter your age".

I had idea but dont now how to finish it as I said i'm just a beginner.

Code:
#!/bin/bash
echo "Name"
echo -n "Enter your name: "
read name
echo -n "enter your age: "
read age
echo
case $name,$age in
"Thomas Muller"|35) echo "you are too old" ;;
"Luka modric"|28) echo "you are boring" ;;
esac

when i try it nothing happens, I had idea how i can solve it in pascal nad converted it to bash, but i really dont know if it is possible.

Code:
if [ "$name" == "name" ] && [ "$age" == "age" ]; then 
  echo "$age";

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

lower case to upper case string conversion in shell script

How can convert a Lower case variable value to an upper case in the kron shell script. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dchalavadi
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script needed to select and delete lower case and mixed case records

HELLO ALL, URGENTLY NEEDED A SCRIPT TO SELECT AND DELETE LOWER AND MIXED CASE RECORDS FROM A COLUMN IN A TABLE. FOR EXAMPLE : Table name is EMPLOYEE and the column name is CITY and the CITY column records will be: Newyork washington ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abhilash mn
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to Convert Upper case to Lower case

Hi All I have a script which extracts values from a Database (A persons name) and puts it into a variable in my script IE: $NAME However the Value in the DB is all in uppercase and contains the users first name and last name EG: > echo $NAME GRAHAM BOYLE > What I need is only the... (7 Replies)