Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extra Space in output - remove Post 302933954 by honey26 on Tuesday 3rd of February 2015 10:45:07 AM
Old 02-03-2015
Thanks all its working now .

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

remove extra lines in the file

Hi, I have some files, with some extra lines in weird characters on the top and bottom of the. I want to get rid of those line. Is there a way I can do that? example of the input file. I want to get rid of those lines in bold  ... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: CamTu
8 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

To remove the extra spaces in unix

Hi... I am quite new to Unix and would like an issue to be resolved. I have a file in the format below; 4,Reclaim,ECXTEST02,abc123,Harry Potter,5432 6730 0327 5469,0603,,MC,,1200,EUR,sho-001,,1,,,abc123,1223 I would like my output to be as follows; 4,Reclaim,ECXTEST02,abc123,Harry... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sho
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

extra space issue with awk

for diskname in $(lspv |awk '{print $1}') do lquerypv -h /dev/|awk '/'$diskname'/ { print ; exit }' done No output is returning from the loop. I think awk put an extra space to the command - lquerypv -h /dev/ so that the command is executed as i.e. lquerypv -h /dev/ hdisk230 with a space... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Daniel Gate
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

m4 adds extra space at top of file.

I have used m4 in the past to generate source code where aesthetics and space were of no consequence . Now I am using it to generate script and program templates . So here is an excerpt from my m4 file for producing a generic bash script: dnl `$Id$' define(`START_SCRIPT',`#!/bin/bash... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Bubnoff
8 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remove extra character