Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Renaming a file that starts with "-" Post 302929898 by faizlo on Sunday 28th of December 2014 06:47:14 PM
Old 12-28-2014
Renaming a file that starts with "-"

Hi

I am downloading some files from the Internet. They are from different sources and they are all called
Code:
-.txt

that is: a dash "-" followed by a dot "." and then the file extension.
So i wrote a small script that hoped will downloads the first file and then rename them once they are completely downloaded. Here is the script I wrote:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
for i in `seq 1 1 30`
do
wget url
mv ./-.txt $i.txt
done

but what I get is that the script (above) downloads the first file "-.txt" and does not rename it to 1.txt as I wanted, and so keeps giving me the message that file "-.txt" has already been downloaded.

What is wrong in my script? (I have little experience with scripting in bash)

Thank you

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to cat a file , name starts with "-" ?

I have a question - beginning user, just learning unix. I have a file that name starts with a hypen -, such as a name like : -myfile (yes, I know shold not start files names like this, but this is the question I have to figure out, and its driving me nuts) I know that this hyphen is like... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: HikerLT
9 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Explain the line "mn_code=`env|grep "..mn"|awk -F"=" '{print $2}'`"

Hi Friends, Can any of you explain me about the below line of code? mn_code=`env|grep "..mn"|awk -F"=" '{print $2}'` Im not able to understand, what exactly it is doing :confused: Any help would be useful for me. Lokesha (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lokesha
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

"sed" to check file size & echo " " to destination file