Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Asking independent-study textbook-style questions Post 302928715 by Neo on Sunday 14th of December 2014 03:58:33 PM
Old 12-14-2014
Yes. That is OK.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

making the application session independent

Hi all, I am actually new to Unix programming and this is my first question to this forum. I have an application and i want it to run independent of the command shell. For example, i run the application from a telnet session. But when i close my session, application is terminated. I just... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bokhari_jawad
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to Launch an independent process.

Hello, I needed a help please... I have an application which launches process. For this i am using fork and execv method calls. By doing this my launched process are now child process of the parent process(launching process). I dont want this to happen, i want the process that is launched to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: deepthi
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

is syslogd logging locale independent?

Just wanna know whether syslogd logs messages in a locale-independent fashion. I want to read the date/time format from log files. Normally the date/time is of the form Jan 23 04:11:30. can this date/time information found in log files be different for different locales?? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sudesh
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Purchase CD when already have textbook

Hi folks. I bought a used "Guide to Unix Using Linux" 3rd edition. The seller (third part from Amazon) did not include the CDs. I want to now just buy the CDs. I contacted the publisher and posted on a couple of forums. I searched with the ISBN 0619215623 and couldn't find anything. Any... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tckilian
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers