Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Move files only if no other file is present there in first place Post 302927746 by RudiC on Friday 5th of December 2014 07:32:04 AM
Old 12-05-2014
Please use code tags as required by forum rules!

In principle, using variables for one off use is somewhat pointless. And, why are you using ll instead of plain ls? Try
Code:
[ "$(ls)" != ""  ] && echo " files exist in the directory " || ... do your copying / moving

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to find all the files that contain any of the words present in another file

Hi All, I am new to UNIX and shell scripts and also new to this forum. I need a script to find all the files in a directory that contain any of the strings present in another file. Please provide me the script or if you could provide pointers to any link in this forum it would be helpful.... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: tsanthosh
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

ls > file - Creating file containing the list of all files present in a directory

Hi All, I need to create a file which contains the list of all the files present in that directory. e.g., ls /export/home/user/*.dat > list_file.dat but what i am getting is: $ ls /export/home/user/*.dat > list_file.dat /export/home/user/*.dat: No such file or directory But I have... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: pranavagarwal
1 Replies

3. HP-UX

[Solved] Deleting a all core files present in file systems ?

Hi All IN HPUX 11 How to delete an unwanted "core" file with a single command which is being generated in different locations of the system the command should be able to free up the space occupied by all "core" file which is present in different folders and filesytems in a system ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: sidharthmellam
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

cp RAW files if JPEG file present