Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Add input to text file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Add input to text file Post 302927377 by cmccabe on Tuesday 2nd of December 2014 02:13:03 PM
Old 12-02-2014
Did post 4 help? Thank you ver much Smilie.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

input text into file

hello everyone, this is my first time posting here so be nice ;-) I am a bit new at unix scripting and have basically been hacking other peoples scripts to get them to do what I need. I have now hit a bit of a stop. This problem is very basic but I can't just seem to figure out how to get... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: cannonfodder
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace text in input file

I wish to replace values of specific parameters in an input file for batch runs of a java code. It's essentially a nested for-loop sorta like this: valuearray1 contains values for param1 valuearray2 contains values for param2 for (all values in valuearray1) go into specific position in... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: daphantomica
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

add new lines of text before and after each input line

I have a file that contains hundreds of lines such as: this_is_macro,000001 this_is_macro,000002 this_is_macro,000003 I would like to add the variable words MACROBEGIN MACRO_000001 MACROBEGIN MACRO_000002 MACROBEGIN MACRO_000003 above each line and add the word MACROEND ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kenneth.mcbride
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

input text from file into 2d array

Hi all I have a little brainscratcher here. I want to draw a pie chart from data in a text file. The drawing of the graph works fine, if I insert the data manually into a 2d array. Now I want to pull the data from a text file (which was created using a uniq -c command) see sample below.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pietie
2 Replies